Visiting the sunshine state sounds like a good idea unless you’re stuck with a traffic violation in Florida. If that happens, you’re not only required to pay a hefty fine, but your license can get suspended too. On average, Florida issues over 2 million traffic citations to drivers. But you can avoid these charges if you know about the common traffic laws and the charges for breaking them. Here are some of the common violations.

Illegal Parking Charges

Parking regulations differ by area, but the most common violation is parking in a no-parking zone or a disabled parking area without proper documents outlining the disability. A parking citation is given to the owner of the vehicle for violation of the parking rules. This citation should be paid within 30 days from the date of issuance. Failure to do so results in late surcharges and additional penalties. In case of a false citation, people can request a court hearing within 90 days.

DUI Charges

Driving under the influence can result in heavy penalties and fines in Miami. If the person’s blood alcohol content is above the legal limit, then the person can receive fines ranging from $500 to $1,000. They can even get their license suspended or get a jail sentence of 6 to 9 months. The jail sentence is sometimes substituted with community service hours and a fine. In case of a second DUI, the driver’s license might get suspended for the next 5 years, and they may face 12 months of jail time.

A speeding bike

Driving An Unregistered Car

Driving an unregistered car in Florida is a criminal violation. The driver can be punished with a second-degree misdemeanor and receive a $500 fine. In some cases, the driver can even be sent to jail for up to 60 days. If a person is coming from a different state, they should register their car in Florida before driving on the roads. Besides that, driving a car with an expired tag is also a criminal charge and can be punished by 60 days in jail.

Running A Stop Light

If a driver fails to stop at a red light or speeds past it, it’s considered a noncriminal traffic violation. The typical fine for this ranges from $125 to $200. It’s also harder to fight a traffic ticket because Florida uses traffic cameras. This also applies to stop signs because Florida law groups stop signs and red lights in the same category. However, if the driver feels the charges were unjust, then it’s best to get an attorney involved to resolve the case.

Find Resources On Traffic Violations In Florida With Helping Miami

Helping Miami’s website list several informative guides on common driving violations in Florida to help people avoid getting traffic tickets. We also list resources related to DUI victim assistance in Florida to help those dealing with DUI accidents. Besides that, you can also look up educational assistance guides, along with guides on autism disorder and mental health. Read our blogs today to learn more.