Miami-Dade County has the largest population in all of Florida, which means it also has one of the busiest roads in the state. According to the Florida Department of Highways, around 3 million traffic citations are issued each year. Most of these violations only earn you a ticket or a misdemeanor charge. But some of the more serious traffic and moving violations can result in jail time and heavy fines. Take a look at some common traffic violations in Miami.
Going over the speed limit
The charges for going over the speed limit depends on how much faster you were going over the limit. You’ll most likely pay a fine if you break a 15mph speed limit. However, if you’re going over the speed time of 5 mph or more, you can be charged with a third-degree felony charge and a fine of upto 5,000. Law enforcement agencies can also revoke your license for a year,
Driving with a suspended or invalid license
Your driving license can be suspended for several reasons, including failure to pay a traffic fine, failure to pay child support, failure to attend a court appearance, and Dui convictions. If you still drive a vehicle with a suspended license, you’ll be charged with a misdemeanor or felony. This can lead to a 5-year suspension of your license. If you’re classified as a habitual traffic offender, you can get felony charges and a fine of up to $5,000.
Anyone wrongfully driving a vehicle can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the recklessness of their driving. In case of any bodily harm or personal injury, the penalties will depend on whether it’s the person’s first offense or not. Typically, a driving violation like that can get in 90 days to 6months in jail. In case of property damage or bodily harm, you can get upto 5 years of prison time and a hefty fine.
Hit and run
If you’re involved in a crash, you’re required by the law to remain at the accident site until the police arrive. This rule is also valid even if no one was injured. Leaving the scene with only property damage can get you a 60-day sentence and a $500 fine. In case of personal injury, you can be charged with a third-degree felony and get 5 years. Serious bodily harm or fatality carries a sentence of 15 to 30 years.
Helping Miami offers resources on traffic and moving violations in Miami to help residents lead safer lives without any run-ins with the law. Besides that, our website also lists helpful blogs and guides on various resources for the Miami community, including education assistance, autism resources, and immigration. Read out blogs today or contact us to learn more.